Yeah I'm a junkie! (ha ha) NOT!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Urbansoulpie

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
😡

Going to have a bit of a rant now.......

Why do people see me doing my injection and make the joke(!) about me being a junkie?!

I can't even estimate the amount of times I have heard things like 'look at you shooting up', 'come on junkie', 'are you having your fix', 'you junkie'.

Why do people think that joking about me being a junkie is even remotely funny?
I just don't understand!

I understand that some people might see me doing my injection and not really know what to say, but to then blurt something out about me being a junkie is just stupid!

Does anyone else hate this?!

I find it really offensive.
:(
Do they really think if I had a choice I would be giving myself +4 injections a day!

Urgh!!

Sorry!
Just wanted to get it off my chest!

I've not had this but then I work in a school so that isn't likely.

Are you getting this at work then? I think they are just jealous. Offer them a few units of your insulin. :D

Yeah I should do!

Must say my usual response is a roll of the eys, or a forced smile, very polite I know - but I'm a lover not a fighter (as the late Michael Jackson would say)!

I've not had this but then I work in a school so that isn't likely.

Are you getting this at work then? I think they are just jealous. Offer them a few units of your insulin. :D

Hahaha well said Marc !! Ive had this a few times and I just laugh , why the

hell shoulld I care what people think of me taking life saving drugs ? sod them

😡

...I understand that some people might see me doing my injection and not really know what to say, but to then blurt something out about me being a junkie is just stupid!