Would you continue to use Blood Glucose Monitor OR Freestyle Libre 2 Sensor?

s14ali

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
I received the Libre 2 sensor from NHS for the first time yesterday but I am really concerned.

Firstly, I acknowledged that it is normal about the difference between Sensor Glucose (Interstitial fluid) and Blood Glucose, according to Abbot website and manual instruction. However, I didn't realise that the reading is quite big gap, eg. 10mmol/L (SG) and 8mmol/L (BG). It seems always 2-3mmol/L more or less. Abbot said that reading is accurate and painless. Well, I feel slightly pain when I move my arm up and sometimes side.

I read few posts about the issues and people have the same problems. Blood Glucose Monitor is much more accurate as I can feel it. I don't think I would continue to use a sensor or shall I try it again next time? I really want a sensor rather than multi-testing kits.

As I know it's my first time with a sensor but I assume that I placed it on back upper arm incorrectly or it could be misread or not scan it properly through the clothes. Maybe try a new sensor could be work?

CGMs like Libre are not replacements for finger pricking. They provide data and trends between individual readings.
CGMs also have limitations which have been mentioned many many times. For example, many of us find our body takes some time (up to 48 hours) familiarising itself with the alien object in our arm and, during this period, it may be unreliable. So if you have only just started using the sensor, this may be the reason why your readings are so far out.
It is also worth bearing in mind that the accuracy is expressed as a percentage. CGMs and finger prick meters are 15% accurate. If your "true" reading is 9, a glucose meter can report anything between 7.6 and 10.3.