What is it like having a pump

Status
Not open for further replies.

zoeynewman

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi im new to this as only been diagnosed on the 6th of may this year.
I heard about a insulin pump and was just wondering what people thought of them and if you think there a good idea.
Im injecting insulin twice a day and doing bg four times a day, I hate needles and at times find it very hard to inject my self and do my bg as it can be really painful and sometimes I cant get enough blood out to test my bg levels.
Do you think it would be a good idea for me to try and get a pump.
Anyone who uses one i would love your advice.
Many thanks Zoe.

Hi im new to this as only been diagnosed on the 6th of may this year.
I heard about a insulin pump and was just wondering what people thought of them and if you think there a good idea.
Im injecting insulin twice a day and doing bg four times a day, I hate needles and at times find it very hard to inject my self and do my bg as it can be really painful and sometimes I cant get enough blood out to test my bg levels.
Do you think it would be a good idea for me to try and get a pump.
Anyone who uses one i would love your advice.
Many thanks Zoe.

Hi Zoe,

After 15 years of injections I have now been on a pump for just over a year. AND I wouldn't give it back! It is not a cure and is still hard work but for me it gives me more flexibility, especially when taking part in sport. I test more on the pump than I did when on MDI. My Hba1C has greatly improved with less hypos and hypers. You get out what you put in! 😉 Is a pump a good idea?....I've not heard of anyone giving one back! There is plenty of information on this site and in the pumping section that might help you to decide.

Aww thank you 🙂
I had some lady come out for a home visit and I asked her about them and she said it can be hard getting funding for them.