Trying to Get off Insulin

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dennzie

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi newbie here with a questions. Some background first.

I was diagnosed T2 17 years ago with a mg/DL of 218 or 11.8 mmol/L. I do my daily measurement in mg/DL as that is what my machine is set up for and my 3 monthly HbA1c in mmol/L . They dont make life simple do they. After around 6 months on Metformin I was so ill I couldn't leave the house until around 3pm when my body had emptied itself - sometimes 20 times in one day - sorry for the specifics. My doctor tried other oral meds but all had the same effect and he recommended I go onto insulin to by-pass the digestive system.

So about 16 years ago I started on 12 units of Lantus (in a pen) every evening which was supplemented by 90mg of Glycazide (excuse spelling as my prescription is French). Anyway, over the years the insulin increased and the daily fasting reading just got worse and worse until I was on 44 units and my BG was around 220 mg/DL - so basically no better off than when I started. I will keep it short but just over 6 years ago I discovered a low carb diet and within 8 days my BG was down to 150 and in 3 weeks down to 120, which my doctor was amazed at. I wont go into details of the diet but I am now having morning reading of around 75/80 and only using 8 units of insulin. So I have told my doctor I want to stop using insulin. The 8 units are barely a squirt and I need to reduce even more if I don't want to go under 70 which I sometimes do and these are not hypos, just normal for me now.