Travelling with a pump

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carla Potter

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hello all,

I know there have been a few threads about travelling with pumps, but I just want peace of mind really. I have been pumping sine December the 5th 2017 and will be going to the US next week, it's my first time travelling abroad whilst pumping and am feeling a bit nervous about going through airport security. I completely understand that security is there for a reason. I know my pump and the loan pump are not to go through the hand baggage X-ray machine or body scanner and will probably need to be swabbed, and that I need to be firm with the security if they try and get me to put them through the X-ray machine or disconnect my pump. I am just not too great at being firm and maybe overthinking it a bit...

Anyways I am flying from Heathrow Terminal 5 and was wondering if anyone on here has flown recently with a pump and what the experience through security was like.

Thank you
Carla

Hi Carla
My experience of gong through security has generally been fine. Just allow loads of time so if any issue arises you do not have the added pressure of worrying about missing your flight.

Before I go through I take off any metal I am wearing (I forgot the buckles on my Birkenstocks last time) and put all jewellery in my handbag. I have my insulin and cannulas in a separate bag which goes through the x Ray. I have with me the letter from my DSN and also a statement from Int airport security (IAS) explaining their policy (@Northerner please you put the link in again). I would also have some sugar in hand just in case things take longer than expected and I need it. With all that I quite often simply sail through without a beep from the metal detector.

They are used to seeing vials and pens etc in the hand luggage and that never seems to cause a problem. The only times I have had my bags searched is due to a random search.