The challenge - My story + How does one choose the best approach to Type 2 Diabetes Remission?

OK1

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Pronouns
He/Him
Rather than starting a new thread, I wish I could have contributed to this other thread (link below), but that thread is now closed.

So here I go. I received my diagnosis of diabetes about a month ago. I do not have all the stats, most likely will go back to the doctor and obtain them. E.g HbA1c, blood pressure, etc, etc. Anyway, I have been researching health for about 20 years, and doing my own bit to live healthy, nevertheless I had become obese - according to the BMI, so my blood pressure is high, and I am, according to the doctor, diabetic. Double whammy. The 1st two weeks was a roller coaster of emotions. A very serene time, which included a discussion with the diabetic nurse at the GP practice. Sobering. What to eat, what not to eat. But then I remembered that I have heard about remission of diabetes, and discussed this with others, years ago, who had become diabetic or were prediabetic, now it was my turn, to practice what I had preached.

The opportunity and hope of remission is life changing, turning what should have been a death sentence into a call for resilience, discipline and recovery. Probably the most humiliating things about a diabetes diagnosis, are :

1st the guilt - oh why did this happen to me?
2nd - it is my fault, I should have known better and done better.
3rd - especially when prescribed medicines for blood pressure and diabetes, the lack of control. Now I have to submit to hospital visits, and check ins, and be told what to do, by some young uns. That part is kind of humiliating, like being treated like a child again. Someone else is now in charge of my life, telling me what to do !!. About some of the most intimate parts of me, my food, what to do with my body(exercise), and when to go to bed (sleep), etc, etc.. When was the last time anyone had such control over my life? !!!