Telling children... (An essay with a question!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Munjeeta

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
I know that a lot of you know that I am a teacher, so for those that don't, I am a primary school teacher and I teach a year 6 class.

Now... An issue that I find makes people feel quite passionate...

In my last teaching post (I had a year 3 class) I mentioned on the first INSET day that I was going to tell my class about my diabetes on the first day, in case I went low etc in class. Later, my headteacher approached me and told me she did not want me to do this. In my first year of teaching, and unsure of how I really felt about it, I agreed and subsequently spent the rest of the year almost hiding my diabetes from the children in my class, avoiding blood tests if I felt I needed them and surreptisiously sipping lucozade but saving follow up carbs till breaks...

This year (with my current yr 6 class) I was so affected by the previous year's experience that I did ask my headteacher if I could tell my class (she said she was happy to, but to make sure it wasn't a big deal, just enough info for them to understand what they needed to know) BUT again, because of the previous year, I was worried about doing it and again, spent the first half of this year carrying on as before.

Then, about a month ago, 2 things happened: I went on a DUK support wkend and I took 34 Year 6 kids on a 5 day residential. At the support weekend the issue came up over drinks on one of the evening. My boyfriend and I ended up having quite a heated debate. He said I should, definitely, tell them about it. I said I wanted to but hadn't been sure how to, or didn't feel confident to having been told not to before.