Teetering on the edge....

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phantomdog

Hi Everyone,

Another naive newbie here. I was going to say surprised, but that would be a lie. I (like I suspect many others) have ignored the warning signs to my health, and it's taken a locum doctor to actually pull no punches with me, and spell out the seriousness of my situation.

It was she that suggested I sign up here and start a dialogue, even though I'm not yet on meds or have a full blown diagnosis. I have an HbA1c of 48mmol/mol, so right on the edge, but apart from one thing, my weight, I have very low contributing factors. Taking the test here that shows risk of type 2 diabetes I would have a score of 11 if it weren't for my weight, and possibly even 6, but for some mild hypertension again associated with my weight. So she sees me as "saveable" and someone for whom change is possible to avoid my actually developing full blown type 2 diabetes.

I hope she's right, and that I can motivate myself to solve my weight problem. Something that I've conveniently swept under (albeit a very large) carpet up until now 🙂

Not sure how much anyone wants to know? But I guess in the spirit of full disclosure here goes:
I'm 55, male, and have always been a "big" person in the sense that I'm 6'2" with broad shoulders. My weight used to be pretty constant around the 18st mark (approx 250lbs), still too high, but somehow my frame pulled it off and I was pretty energetic, lots of cycling, walking etc. & healthy.

Then, about 3 years ago now I had kidney stone issues, and was laid up for a couple of months after some botched surgery where my ureter was split. I put on a good stone or more in that time and was very lethargic afterwards. Upshot I kept putting on weight until now I weigh the best part of 26st or around 350lbs! Those of you good at math will see my BMI is now 45.8, a rather terrible number :(