Taking longer for glucose levels to come down

Status
Not open for further replies.

jimmymumu

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi. I've been diabetic for around 7 years and have managed to maintain it quite well till recently with 2 metformin twice a day and a fairly healthy diet. I've lost 14 lbs in the last 12 months. These last few weeks I've noticed slight differences.
1/ A water blister appeared on my leg without reason (no water retention)
2/ Increase in thirst

I've started monitoring my blood using an old Accu-Check Performa and I've noticed that it takes around 4 hours for my readings to drop after evening tea. In the morning it comes down fine. 2 hours after food tonight it was 10.7 after a further 2 hours it was 8.1.
Should I be seeing my diabetic nurse over this? Thank you

I've found it difficult to identify what is causing the slower reduction and higher readings. Sometimes it's obvious others not. I'm no expert but it should be a process of elimination. But I'm baffled sometimes.

To answer your question, I would think it's worth a call. See what others suggest. But that's my brief input.

I hope you make progress soon.

Thank you.
I'm normally really good at maintaining a healthy level, so I don't understand what's going on. I've not changed my diet recently.

Thank you.
I'm normally really good at maintaining a healthy level, so I don't understand what's going on. I've not changed my diet recently.
You're welcome.

As I understand it there are various possibilities.

Diet and portion size, exercise frequency and duration, before or after meals, medication, and health in general.

Off the top of my head. There's probably more.

Those can be broken down further. I haven't found it easy though, by no means.