Support for newly diagnosed- HbA1c 120

Status
Not open for further replies.

Franarama_

Pronouns
She/Her
Hi all,
I’m after some advice. I had a HbA1c as part of investigations for an unrelated issue. I’d mentioned I’d had unintentional weight loss, but with increased hunger.
My HbA1c returned at 120 - which I know is high!
My GP has started me on Gliclazide 80mg, twice a day.

I am a nurse by background. My field is respiratory, so apart from general diabetic knowledge, I am clueless.

I have moved to low carb diet, I am making a conscious effort to track my food intake, focusing on my carbs and fibre intake and trying to find trends in my BG readings.
I’m sticking to a 12 hour eating window.
Blood glucose is ranging from as high as 26.5mmols/L and my ‘lower end’ is around 15.8mmols/L. Higher readings are usually in the mornings, pre-breakfast.
I am taking the Gliclazide 30mins before meals.

I was only told about this 6 days ago. To say I’m overwhelmed is an understatement. I am on day 6 of the Gliclazide treatment also. Other than prescribing the tablets, I haven’t really been given any advice from my GP on the best way to manage this. He was rather frantic when contacting me with the results.

I’m 33, BMI is in overweight category at 28. I am actively trying to reduce my weight to the healthy category.
I’m usually fit and well, apart from the last 3 months where I’ve had ongoing gynae issues which I am awaiting surgery. This has had an impact on my physical activity levels as I’m suffering with rather severe pain. There is no family history of type one diabetes, I have no autoimmune conditions.

My GP said there is a possibility this could be LADA. I’ve had a full antibody screen sent and currently awaiting the results. I wasn’t even aware of this condition a few days ago.

I was wondering how long does it take to see results with the Gliclazide? - in terms of improved blood glucose control. I completely get I will not see overnight results.