sugarfree products for a newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

Purls of Wisdom

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Any suggestions for a sugar free jam and diluting juice? Still consider myself new on this platform since my diagnosis, which was not long ago, 11th April, 2022 to be precise. Still in denial, confused and scared.

This is the one I just bought this week, but have not yet tried. Be aware - no added sugar products may contain sweeteners and must be eaten in moderation, otherwise they have a laxative effect!
There are keto jams around and I believe Holland and Barrett sell one, but some make their own using fruit alone. You can always ask Google for recipes 🙂
I use weak no added sugar KiaOra orange juice or a no added sugar flavoured water for my drinks. It is quite a minefield when we are first diagnosed, I'm still relatively new to being a T2 myself 🙂

I like Tesco's own brand quadruple strength diluting juices. the cherries & berries is absolutely lovely, also Robinsons Fruit Creations blueberry & blackberry and strawberry & watermelon xx

Just be careful when looking for sugarfree products as it does not necessarily mean they are low carb. They also may be full of artificial sweeteners which can have an unpleasant after taste that some people can detect (apparently there is a genetic element to being able to detect them).
I often have flavoured sparkling water, there is still also.

Thank you folks. No added sugar does not mean sugar free, I am told.
Proper fruit juice has no added sugar, but it is still pretty high in sugar, to the point that some people on insulin use it to treat a hypo (dangerously low blood glucose levels).
You really need to start thinking about carbohydrate content rather than just sugar. Carbohydrates include both sugars and starches and they all get broken down into glucose by your digestive system and absorbed into your blood stream, so reducing all carbs should improve your diabetes, not just sugars.