Recommended glucose metres and fingerpricking devices please?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RJN123

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
I am still a relative newbie, so would love some recommendations. What glucose metre and fingerpricking device do you prefer?
I was given the AgaMatrix Jazz in the hospital, and because I find it fiddly and errorprone, I am not very good at measuring. I particularly don’t like the fingerprick thingie.

I have looked around the internet, but thought you folks are more likely to have some good recommendations. Thank you in advance!

(I buy a libre on occasion when I know I am in high risk environments like long business trips, but can’t afford it on a permanent basis).

I am still a relative newbie, so would love some recommendations. What glucose metre and fingerpricking device do you prefer?
I was given the AgaMatrix Jazz in the hospital, and because I find it fiddly and errorprone, I am not very good at measuring. I particularly don’t like the fingerprick thingie.

I have looked around the internet, but thought you folks are more likely to have some good recommendations. Thank you in advance!

(I buy a libre on occasion when I know I am in high risk environments like long business trips, but can’t afford it on a permanent basis).
I was given the 4sure smart duo in hospital, I have found it ok and easy to use but I don't have any experience of any other system to compare really.

My surgery gave me a Gluco Rx Q when I was diagnosed and I've never felt the need to change it.

My DN gave me a Palmdoc, no idea if the particular model.

The best finger pricker is the Accu-Chek Fastclix, and I have used a few in my time.
Great. That is the one I had considered. Seems a bit more like the one they use in hospitals - which I don’t find too bad.

I mainly use a Contour Blue, as it's got bluetooth connectivity and the app on my iPhone integrated with Apple health and the data gets shared automatically to other health apps.