Qrisk Assessment

Status
Not open for further replies.

kirbyhowarth

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi, I'm a newbie with a question, so hello all.

A little background, I was diagnosed with Diabetes in 2017 with an HBA1C of 51, so I took it upon myself to 'right the wrong'.
I then;
Lost weight
Lowered the carbs
Ditched refined sugar (Not all 😉)
Stopped drinking
Exercised a little more than I used to, usually walking.

By this time it was 2019, but was then diagnosed with AIH and was put on steroids, bang went the blood sugar.
I did the best I could to control it, but it wasn't easy. Apart from a very brief period on 2.5 mg of gliclazide I have had zero medication for diabetes.

In early 2021 by bloods in relation to AIH were normal and I also came of the steroids. At present it looks like a will be discharged from the hospital for that, phew.

My last 12 months of HBA1C (taken every three months) have not reached 40, ranged from 36 to 39, which I believe puts me in remission?

My question is, at what point if any is remission of diabetes taken into consideration when computing a QRisk assessment and how may that be reflected in the percentages?

Thanks alot for any help, feedback, advice, it is all very much appreciated.

Kirby

Welcome to the forum @kirbyhowarth. I can’t answer your last question as I don’t know but HbA1Cs ranging from 36 to 39 are great! Pre diabetic HbA1C ranges from 42 to 47mmol/mol. A HbA1C of 48mmol/mol gets you a diagnosis of diabetes. I will leave someone with more knowledge to answer whether that puts you into remission

Welcome to the forum @kirbyhowarth

Well done on your diabetes management so far! Sounds like the approaches you have taken have been very effective, and your HbA1c results are impressive.

It’s a really interesting question, and I think only the people who were part of putting the QRISK tool together would really be in a position to offer any kind of answer.