Please help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarahmort

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi im a newbie to the site ive been diabetic 21 years I take levimre and noverapid 6 weeks ago my nurse changed my bedtime insulin from levimere to tresiba i feel terrible on it my bloods can be in range average 6 before i go to bed then at 3 in the morning i wake up randomly drinking loads and a blood sugar of 25 happened everynight since ive been on it through the day bloods are great its an hour after my tresiba im currently on 52 units at bedtime im tired had ketones amd my nurse wont change me back because she says she cant has anyone ever changed back to there old insulin

Thanks in advance

Sarah

I don’t see why you can’t change back or onto a different basal. It may be worth moving your tresiba back so that it’s in the morning rather than the evening (slowly over a week or so) to see if that helps. Usually tresiba takes a few days (2-3) to fully get into the system as each dose lasts longer than 24 hours.

Other things to check. Have you tried a different vial/batch? Are you using an old injection site and it’s not absorbing properly.

Can you speak to your consultant?

I don’t see why you can’t change back or onto a different basal. It may be worth moving your tresiba back so that it’s in the morning rather than the evening (slowly over a week or so) to see if that helps. Usually tresiba takes a few days (2-3) to fully get into the system as each dose lasts longer than 24 hours.

Other things to check. Have you tried a different vial/batch? Are you using an old injection site and it’s not absorbing properly.

Can you speak to your consultant?