PatientAccess

Status
Not open for further replies.

Docb

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
I have been using PatientAccess for a few years now to order medication, check test results and make appointments and has been very useful. Technology doing what it is supposed to do, automating routine stuff. I have often on the forum suggested that people find out if their surgery uses it and recommended signing up if they do.

I tried to log in to it yesterday and they have now changed the "authentication" system and now when you try to log in, instead of being asked for random letters from a password, you are sent an authentication code by sms. All well and good unless you either don't have a mobile phone or like me have a mobile phone but live in an area with no mobile phone signal.

I have e mailed Patient Access and their reply can best be summarised as - yes we know, tough luck, not our problem, complain to your surgery. I have contacted my surgery to see what they have to say.

I suggest any PatientAccess users who live in rural areas where mobile coverage is poor check to see if they still have access to their surgery. Don't leave it until you need medication urgently and the only option is to join an endless phone queue when the surgery next opens.

Any enthusiasm I have expressed in the past for this system needs to be tempered.

Yep - just tried mine and it's first asked me for 3 random letters from my memorable word, as usual, then sent me an OTP.

Thank goodness my Surgery still offers the old fashioned unique user name followed by a unique password on the PC/Laptop. I hope they don't change.

My surgery uses System Online, at present it uses login and password. Though I have noticed when using the NHS app it occasionally sends a verification code aswell login and password,