Omnipod 5 rotation

Status
Not open for further replies.

Evergreen

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1.5 LADA
Hello everyone!

Just wondering what sights people use to rotate their pods (and still keep line of sight with the Dexcom). Do you have a system?

Also, how many sights do you tend to use and how many days should you leave a used sight to rest before reusing?

I’ve only just started on the omnipod and am due a change tomorrow. I’m currently using my stomach but a little worried about using other places on my body as I’m quite lean…can it hit muscle?!

I do not have the OmniPod but I have a different patch pump.
Like you, I am quite lean. I tend to just use my abdomen. I “rotate sites” by starting at my right hip and migrate across my body each pump change until I reach my left hip, turn the pump around and migrate back. I have two rows of five or six sites. I have been doing this for 5 years with no issues.
My pump does not use Dexcom but its own CGM. I do not need line of site and surprised you do when both Dexcom and OmniPod use Bluetooth. There is a minimum distance of around 6cm between pump and CGM to ensure they do not affect each other.
I usually locate my CGM on my upper torso between my ribs. I cannot put it too high because it will get in the way of my heart rate monitor in the gym.

Oh that’s interesting! Could I ask what patch pump you use? Is it similar size to the omnipod?

If you always use your stomach, does that mean you use below and above your belly button too? And over the ribs? The omnipod trainer said not to go over the ribs.

I also wondered for how long you would avoid previous used sights? I’m trying to come up with a bit of a ‘plan’ and wondering if 12 days rest might be ok (if no obvious damage of course)

Podder myself, in essence you can place pods where you would normally inject on mdi, I'm not lean but use stomach sides arms occasionally legs & sometimes chest, tend to leave used areas for few weeks to give them time to recover.