Need some advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kraftykate

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Just recovering from flu recently. Over the last few days My blood sugars are really high always above 13 and sometimes 21. I’ve changed insulin pen, sensor and were I inject but still can’t get my levels down. My diet is good. Granted I’ve not done much exercise recently, which I usually do. Is this why the levels are not coming down. I’ve been Type 1 for 2 years, so I’m still a newbie to all this. Should I be worried or will it come down naturally when I’m fully recovered. Would appreciate some advice. Thanks

Granted I’ve not done much exercise recently, which I usually do. Is this why the levels are not coming down.
That's probably part of it. It's also normal to need more insulin (sometimes much more) when we're ill. And once you're over 15 (for some value of "15") it can take what seem like silly amounts of insulin to get back to normal (hence the term "rage bolus").
Should I be worried or will it come down naturally when I’m fully recovered.
You should try and control it, but in a bit more of a relaxed way (so don't worry if you're not able to keep as well controlled as you usually do). Use your sick day rules (and if you don't have any, there are links https://forum.diabetes.org.uk/board...for-people-new-to-diabetes.10406/#post-938456 ).

It's probably worth trying to get in contact with your healthcare team, and if things really seem to be getting out of control contact 111. Better to take some of their time now than to end up with DKA.

What I find with my kid is that he may or may not need more insulin when he has signs of illness but that he definitely needs more for several days at least afterwards and sometimes a week or more. I think your body is probably still doing a lot of work but you’re getting fewer symptoms because it’s winning the battle.