Naughty person

Dornfield

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Pronouns
He/Him
Hi everyone.
So misspent youth of buns and chocolate has caught up with me, aged 58. Hopefully with the help of this forum I can put my T2D into remission. There is certainly a lot of online chatter I see about that, and I've started to read some of the supporting scientific literature (I'm a biochemistry/ molecular biologist by training/ occupation). I'm taking it far more seriously now having thought Metformin would allow me to ease into a monk-like existence.
What I'd like to learn is whether my adopted low calorie diet, meaning a proportional increase in some animal fats/ coconut oil, is doing horrible things to my other blood counts (triglycerides, LDL)? Still much to learn/ put into action.
No more buns, no more chocolate, and my two weeks in France in August is likely to be much lighter on croissants and baguettes than I'd have wanted.
Maybe just the odd croissant, you know, for 'good behaviour'.

Hi everyone.
So misspent youth of buns and chocolate has caught up with me, aged 58. Hopefully with the help of this forum I can put my T2D into remission. There is certainly a lot of online chatter I see about that, and I've started to read some of the supporting scientific literature (I'm a biochemistry/ molecular biologist by training/ occupation). I'm taking it far more seriously now having thought Metformin would allow me to ease into a monk-like existence.
What I'd like to learn is whether my adopted low calorie diet, meaning a proportional increase in some animal fats/ coconut oil, is doing horrible things to my other blood counts (triglycerides, LDL)? Still much to learn/ put into action.
No more buns, no more chocolate, and my two weeks in France in August is likely to be much lighter on croissants and baguettes than I'd have wanted.
Welcome to the forum.