Libre 2 on a smart watch?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Daaavid

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi, I have a Libre 2. I wish to use a smart watch with it. Has anyone any advice / recommendation on which smart watch to use please?

I've been using a Samsung fit e for a couple of years. Dead cheap and gets alarms and notifications from the phone via Bluetooth. Handy to have the vibration on your wrist for say low glucose alarms when in a noisey environment.
I'm not sure there is any more functionality available for even expensive smart watches.
Having said that I'm thinking of getting a Fitbit for better battery life and screen. Also I'm not that keen on the Samsung apps that go with the phone.

It’s not something I’ve looked into, but I think several forum members have managed this with 3rd party apps like xDrip or Tomato.

I don’t think there’s an ‘official’ Abbott route, so the algorithm used to show the data won’t be the one Abbott developed and tested in their clinical trials.

I’ve taken the liberty of tweaking your thread title to attract attention of smartwatch users.

I've been using a Samsung fit e for a couple of years. Dead cheap and gets alarms and notifications from the phone via Bluetooth. Handy to have the vibration on your wrist for say low glucose alarms when in a noisey environment.
I'm not sure there is any more functionality available for even expensive smart watches.
Having said that I'm thinking of getting a Fitbit for better battery life and screen. Also I'm not that keen on the Samsung apps that go with the phone.
Is it complicated to link to a smartphone? It sounds like exactly what I'm looking for cos it's cheap! (oops, thread hijack alert!)

Hi, Many thanks for the replies. I'm a bit baffled by references to linking to a smartphone. Does the smartwatch not work independently? I ask as ideally I don't want the watch to link to my phone.

Does the smartwatch not work independently?