Lantus

Status
Not open for further replies.

CALSHOT

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hello... does anyone use Lantus and if so any side effects to date?
I've been using it for roughly 6 yrs and have recently made my evening jabs earlier from 2200 to 1800ish. This was advised by the hospital as i mentioned my blood sugar goes above 12 around 0500... that naturally wakes me up and i use some novorapid to reduce it. At one point i experimented with reducing/stopping carbs in the evening but to no effect. The hospital told me to bring my jab earlier and give more doseage... but with more doseage i become too low through the day and have to force fodder to mantain a good level. Wanting to be a healthy weight and already being above the recommended i'm not keen on this approach.
Anyone had similar issues? this is effecting my sleep and making me drowsy through the day... starting to think Lantus might be making me drowsy and not the lack of sleep.
thanks!

Hi Calshot....

Nathan my 14yr old son, uses Latnus and has done for approx the last 14mths..He has experienced some problems and I have some serious concerns regarding Lantus at the moment....I'm in the process of addressing these with the DSN.

Heidi
xx🙂

hi

I'm having a few strange issues with my lantus at the moment too,

I was taking 18 units before bed at whatever time i went to bed and had been fine on it for maybe 8 years or so (cant remember exact timescales ha!) but a few months ago I started going incredibly low and waking up at about 2.something. And was running low all day

I spoke to my DSN a few weeks ago and she suggested lowering it substantially. I'm currenytly taking 14 units. And am waking up at 8 or 9, which to me is a bit too high.

I can't seem to get that happy medium which is wierd because I was fine before. I wonder if there are any alternatives to lantus?

A lot of people have problems with lantus, particularly since it doesn't last for 24 hours in many people, as claimed.