To pump or not to pump?

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

Anna WP

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hello,

I’m a newbie to this forum stuff and have been a type 1 diabetic for 30 years this year and looking to some advice.

I have been approved to have a ‘pump’ on the NHS and my first ‘pump’ appointment is 24/4. (‘Pump’ still makes me laugh!)

What do I need to expect?
What to prepare for?
Most importantly how is everyone who has one finding it?

I’m looking at the Accu-Chek Combo/Insight.

Any advice, support, comments welcome

Beat me - I was well over 30 years past diagnosis and I my late 50s when I got mine!

It's a tad alien to begin with - loved it for the first few weeks but by the end of month one I hated the stupid thing but another fortnight and I knew it was my mate after all! It's a weird feeling because you just don't realise how intuitive and 'automatic' your actions on MDI had become over the years. Now you suddenly have to think about things in a way you haven't needed to since just after first diagnosis - and I dunno about you, but I didn't enjoy feeling like that again and didn't expect to feel like it again.

It becomes instinctive and intuitive and automatic again - a darn sight quicker than it did the first time - and we all get there !

Hello,

I’m a newbie to this forum stuff and have been a type 1 diabetic for 30 years this year and looking to some advice.

I have been approved to have a ‘pump’ on the NHS and my first ‘pump’ appointment is 24/4. (‘Pump’ still makes me laugh!)

What do I need to expect?
What to prepare for?
Most importantly how is everyone who has one finding it?

I’m looking at the Accu-Chek Combo/Insight.

Any advice, support, comments welcome