Freestyle Libre 2 - Dr Issues

neosegauk

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi There,

My name is Richard and I have been a type 1 diabetic for over 36 years.

I recently had my hba1c check which went really well. My Dr recommended in my review the Lifestyle Libre 2 as it could help get my levels even better.

I've been using them now since early December 2022 and they've really helped me. It's started to improve my levels and I honestly love it

I went to get my prescription renewed for another libre 2 (had to wait 5 days) and after I asked my pharmacist they said no prescription had come from my Drs. I contacted my Drs and they said I couldn't have it anymore and I had to instead be referred to a diabetic clinic if I wanted it.

Apparently there's a wait till July to see anyone in my local diabetic clinic.

Is this right? Can my Dr really just stop it like that? I'm quite upset as this has been a real game changer for me helping me manage my diabetes better. :(

Has anyone else had any issues like this and if so what did you do?

I contacted my Drs and they said I couldn't have it anymore and I had to instead be referred to a diabetic clinic if I wanted it.

Apparently there's a wait till July to see anyone in my local diabetic clinic.

Is this right? Can my Dr really just stop it like that?
They can, but obviously they shouldn't. If you're in England your GP isn't correct: in England, a GP may prescribe Libre 2 just as they can (say) insulin. (There are some CGMs that can only come from a diabetes clinic but Libre 2 isn't one of them.)

Also (in England) the NICE guidelines are clear: a CGM is recommended for everyone with type 1 diabetes.

So (if you're in England), it's worth pressing your GP further, and contacting Partha Kar if that fails.

(Other countries in the UK have slightly different regimes.)