First Post

Status
Not open for further replies.

diadavo

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi all! I’m 29 and have been diagnosed T1 nearly four years (after a couple years of tests and doc visits where I wasn’t listened and made to feel dramatic, and ended up with a dead pancreas.. fun). Still winging it, still hate it, still feeling like I have no life from constant exhaustion. Been seeing a doc for sleep issues, to be told nothings wrong. Spoken to a doc about fatigue, to be told it’s life and I need to get used to it. I’m a nursery nurse and need all the energy I can get, but don’t have any left for myself. I’m gaining weight because I’m too worried to get back to the gym, I’m exhausted and I’m miserable (not my usual annoying jolly self). Struggle to even function the last couple months, is this normal? What can I do to help myself? Came here to show myself I’m not alone and get listen to people who actually go through it too- because I am having a freaking mare haha! Thanks in advance x

I cant advise as type two but i hear ya and hope the other type 1s will be there to support you as they have me. Welcome

Welcome @diadavo
Sorry to read that you are struggling.
Feeling exhausted all the time is not normal.

What are your blood sugar levels like? High levels can affect our moods. I certainly feel I have more energy when my levels are lower and not bouncing around too much

Have you been on a DAFNE course (or the local equivalent)?
This can be really beneficial to learn about "Dosing For Normal Eating" and more such as exercise, alcohol, sickness, etc.
I also found it great to meet and talk to others with Type 1.
Getting your dosage (and carb counting) right can help with so much.

Please continue to ask questions and, if you want to, share more about yourself and your diabetes management.