FIASK makes my blood glucose go up before I eat

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nanette

Relationship to Diabetes
Other Type
8 days ago I was changed from Novorapid to FIASK as it was taking me over an hour to absorb the insulin. Since taking FIASK BG has been all over the place peaks to 14 after meals and tends to come down to 8-10 after about 3 hours. I’m taking a bit more every day and this evening BG was6.3 before my bolus dose after 15 min it was6.8 after 30min 9.2 after 35 min 9.8 and after 45 min it’s come down to 8.3 !!! I’m confused as this was supposed to be fast acting and now I’m too frightened to eat till it comes down further. Has anyone had this problem with FIASK ? I’m also having recent problems with episodes of very low blood pressure - don’t know if it’s linked or not - sorry for long question, feeling very alone with this- no one to ask

I have been using Fiasp for a few years now. When I started, I was a bit like you - I couldn’t seem to control it.
Then I read someone say that the speed of action varies depending upon your BG, suddenly it started to make sense and I really like it now. If my levels are above 10, Fiasp can take forever to start working - at least an hour. It feels as if I am injecting water and then, suddenly, my levels plummet. If my levels are in the 4s, it can start working instantly and I hypo unless I inject after eating. Anything between and it works well for me if I inject just before I eat.
I use it in my pump and the fast acting is great to avoid hypos by suspending my basal when my levels start to fall too low.

Hi.
Sorry to hear you are struggling to get to grips with Fiasp. It took 2 trials for me when I swapped over from NR and 3 months of frustration each time, which was why I gave up the first time and went back to NR. Like you NR was taking over an hour at breakfast time. Fiasp isn't much quicker at 45 mins but I can work that into my routine.