ENG 1 and Type 1; anyone with help or advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ellabrique

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hello everyone,

I work as a chef on a private yatch with my partner (who is the skipper) and I have been diagnosed with type 1 in January, while I was renewing with ENG1. Quite lucky in a way since the previous boat was having a refit and I then had 2 months off to get used to my new, well, life. I am doing very well now, I just had a HbA1c result of 42.
We are starting on a new boat soon, and unfortunately the doctor that failed me on my medical in January, telling me not to worry, to get sorted and stable so I could come back and pass, just annunced that I shouldn't bother trying because I would most definitely fail.
I read the MCA doctor manual, which every doctor I have spoken to about an ENG1 just reads back to me. I states that providing I am stable, I can get a restricted certificate that allows me to sail in near coastal UK water only, unless there is a doctor permanently on board.
Since we are meant to sail around, something like the classic Med summer and Caribbean winter, UK waters are a tad of an inconvenience.

I was wondering if anybody would have any advice or personnal experience on the subject.
I understand the risks related to diabetes and sailing and I could do with staying in near coastal water, just not in the UK only...
Also, if my partner, who is permanently on board, has an Advanced Medical Care ticket (which is designed for the “seafarers designated to take charge of medical care on board ship” and have thorough knowledge of how to deal with diabetes related emergencies, this has to be in our favour, no?

The failure to obtain a medical certificate would leave me without a livelyhood. Everyone told me that diabetes would not keep me from doing what I want and having a normal life, so I'm throwing a line out now, please help me! I am going to war on this.
Many thanks.