Did anyone else feel like this when starting on a pump? CamAPS/Libre 3/Ypso

Status
Not open for further replies.

Verity14

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hello, this is my first time posting on a forum so want to say thanks in advance to any one who replies to this!

I’ve had type 1 for 32 years, since the age of 6, and have always been on MDI (lantus and Fiasp for the last few years). I decided to make the leap to a pump back in October 2023 as for the last few years my control hasn't been so good and HBA1c had crept up to 58. I was told in February this year that I had been approved for a closed loop which was a huge (but exciting) shock as I wasn’t expecting this. I have a wonderful diabetes team and decided that the Ypsomed and Libre 3 with CamAPS was best for me. I started the pump in April and of course it has been an enormous learning curve. Physically it’s going ok, it’s up and down (well, mainly low to be honest!) but HBA1c estimate is already 50% so a huge change). However I’m really struggling mentally which is just not something I had expected. I just feel so different, highly anxious most of the time and feel very distracted. It’s so strange as I’m not obsessively checking levels or anything but I think I do feel more ‘out of control’ than I did before. I was warned it’s can be like being re-diagnosed which I think may be a good description, but I just wasn’t expecting to feel so strange. Physically I think I feel better with less ups and downs BG wise but mentally I’m really struggling in a way I didn’t expect to, and find very hard to put in to words. I wonder if anyone can relate to this or has felt anything similar? Thanks again for any advice or ideas!

Hi and welcome.