Diabox download v separate secondhand phone for Dexcom one

Status
Not open for further replies.

HalfpipMarathon

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
I have googled Diabox download and get a lot of results so no idea which is the correct link and which is bogus.

The alternative is to get a cheap secondhand phone just for Dexcom one; if I did this I would get a separate SIM card for the data to be able to run the Dexcom app or do I not need this? I'm not very technical as you can tell!

If you have enough data on your main phone, you can use tethering when out of range of WiFi (tell your main phone to share it's data either via Bluetooth or by acting as a mini WiFi transmitter).

I don't know which is the correct link though, sorry.

Were you not considering the separate handset for Dexcom One?

That sounded like a much cheaper and simpler option to me.

Whatever receiver device you have for CGM it needs to be close to the sensor order to receive the continuous data (and also sound the alarms), so whichever route you take you’d need to carry the device with you.

The only way I can see of reducing the number of devices you need to carry would be to upgrade your phone to one that supports whichever CGM you choose.

Were you not considering the separate handset for Dexcom One?

That sounded like a much cheaper and simpler option to me.

Whatever receiver device you have for CGM it needs to be close to the sensor order to receive the continuous data (and also sound the alarms), so whichever route you take you’d need to carry the device with you.

The only way I can see of reducing the number of devices you need to carry would be to upgrade your phone to one that supports whichever CGM you choose.