Closed loop system

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tom1982

Relationship to Diabetes
Parent
I’m a pump engineer (not insulin pumps unfortunately). To me a closed loop system is a pump that reacts automatically to a signal from a sensor.
Is this effectively what a closed loop system is for insulin pumps too?
Currently trying to suss out what our best option is for our 4 year old daughter.

There's some information here on the Diabetes UK pages about it (they don't recommend DIY systems), with links to 4 commercial pumps at the bottom of the page.
But all this is well outside my knowledge, as I'm T2 on pills. Hopefully the more knowledgable forum members know!

A closed loop system is where the pump will decrease or increase the amount of insulin depending on what the sensor tells it. The two closed loop systems I know of are the Tandem Tslim pump linked with a Dexcom and a Medtronic pump linked with a Guardian sensor

The Dana RS can be looped too, either with its official loop that uses Dexcom, or with Open APS. Yes @Tom1982 a closed loop is as you described. You can also have an open loop, or switch the closed loop off at certain points eg at night.

A closed loop system is where the pump will decrease or increase the amount of insulin depending on what the sensor tells it. The two closed loop systems I know of are the Tandem Tslim pump linked with a Dexcom and a Medtronic pump linked with a Guardian sensor
So out of curiosity, why doesn’t everyone want a closed loop system???

Like @Inka said. And the fact that most aren’t even offered a pump because the guidelines don’t address many issues of MDI

Ahhh right. Is the Dexcom a monthly pay out?
Often, yes. And most of us aren't offered a pump. (Things are a bit different on both things if you're 4 or (more generally) under 12.)