Breakfast Cereal

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ranger

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Has anyone got any views on Surreal Breakfast cereals being sold in Sainsburys? Being a newbie I'm not sure but look to be sugar free and low in carbs, I'm guessing I looking at "carbs that sugar" when I'm checking is that right?

Always scan the ingredients list as well as sugar and carb content. If you are fine with erythritol in your food then it looks suitable.
Sainsburys seems to be saying 7-8g erythritol per serving which may make some decide against it.

I'm guessing I looking at "carbs that sugar" when I'm checking is that right?
No. You need to be looking at all the carbs. Not just those that are sugar. All the carb (except fibre which is listed separately anyway in the uk) turn to glucose. So you need to be aware of them all. Whatever colour whatever grain whatever gi they are there and your body will need to cope with them.

The of which sugars bit is only really useful for people using insulin as it gives them an idea of how fast the glucose hit is likely to be and when to dose accordingly. For a type 2 not on insulin it’s pointless and misleading, especially for grain/flour based items like cereals and bread and “sugar free” items like biscuits and cakes.

Has anyone got any views on Surreal Breakfast cereals being sold in Sainsburys? Being a newbie I'm not sure but look to be sugar free and low in carbs, I'm guessing I looking at "carbs that sugar" when I'm checking is that right?

I've bought this a few times. It's OK, bit cardboardy, but a decent replacement.
It contains a lot of protein, and some of the carb content is 'polyols' from sweeteners.

A serving is around 10g of carbs, minus 3.5g of polyols, making it quite low in carbs.
The peanut butter one is OK. I sometimes mix it with Greek yoghurt.

Last edited:
I really don't know much about all of this so don't really know what is what. I was hoping I had found an alternative to be honest.