10 pounds loss in a week.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenny65

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi

I am trying to lose weight and lost over a stone since 29th June. I know you lose a lot in the first week but this last week I have tracked my loss and this seems a lot in one week. I want to be pleased but is this too fast and should I be worried

Attachments

• 55C2B6D3-930D-4B6D-8981-621C6B7AAEE6.png
    55C2B6D3-930D-4B6D-8981-621C6B7AAEE6.png
    114.7 KB · Views: 16
I'm no medical expert, but that does sound quite a lot. I think I would mention it to my GP to make sure averything's ok. Just to be sure.

Cheers

Steve

I don't think so.
You've been putting a lot of work in.
But keep hydrated, a lot of the loss is water, and the heatwave now will be adding to the loss, so drink plenty of water.

Thank you both for responding. I think it may be partly dehydration. Also on the 13th I weighed in the evening whereas the others were in the morning so maybe less loss

I do seem to have an extremely upset stomach after breakfast each day so may have to swap the porridge for something else ( I have IBS).

If you’re not weighing at the same time and in the same clothes every day that will explain a lot of it. Weighing in the evening one day and morning the next will give a few pounds weight difference, depending also what you wear. Things like going to the toilet and dehydration will affect it too.

If you feel well and don’t have other new symptoms then I would just start drinking plenty to make sure hydrated, start being consistent about time of day that you weigh, and see what happens. If it’s just a one week thing then slows down when you do that then no worries. If you keep losing at that rate then it’s too fast yes and would need to get medical advice.

You probably know this already, but if your wee is dark, then you're dehydrated. Just a simple check....