Ypso pros and cons

Status
Not open for further replies.

trux4us

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
I've been on a Medtronic pump for over 15 years (living with T1 for 45 years) and have dabbled with the Guardian 3 but are interested in the touchscreen, lack of calibration, and integration with phone app features of the Ypso pump with Dexcom G6. Without getting to trial the Ypso, its a big decision to make. Has anyone had experience using the Ypso and Dexcom closed loop that can talk to it's pros and cons? TIA

I've been on a Medtronic pump for over 15 years (living with T1 for 45 years) and have dabbled with the Guardian 3 but are interested in the touchscreen, lack of calibration, and integration with phone app features of the Ypso pump with Dexcom G6. Without getting to trial the Ypso, it’s a big decision to make. Has anyone had experience using the Ypso and Dexcom closed loop that can talk to its pros and cons? TIA
I have no experience of the Ypso but others on here have.

I am using a Medtronic after 8 years of using a Combo, and as you say it is a big decision when swapping. However I am already 2 1/2 years in with this one and so glad I swapped over which enabled me to use the looping. The new Medtronic sensors Guardian 4 require just one callibration per week after the two hour warm up. I am finding it reliable and happy to bolus from the SG reading. The pump is about the same as your old 640 and like you I find it irritating having to get the pump out regularly to bolus or respond to alarms. On the Combo it stayed tucked away and everything was done on a hand set, so this felt a bit like going backwards. Still well worth it for me, as the looping enables me to ignore my diabetes for a large part of the day.

Let us know how you get on.