Yoga?

Status
Not open for further replies.

shiv

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi all,

Tomorrow I'm going to my first ever yoga class. It's 1hr15min long. I've never done yoga before, and whilst I know it isn't strenuous exercise, I have no idea what to anticipate in terms of BG levels. Has anyone done it and got any pointers for me?

I plan to do the obvious: check before, during and after, and keep an eye on levels for the following few hours 🙂

Any help greatly appreciated!

I do an hour's workout of weights, muscle exercises and yoga first thing after getting up. I've found that from testing after waking and then before having breakfast (so either side of the routine), I tend to rise by about 2mmol/l 🙂 Don't underestimate yoga as a workout though!

That's kind of why I'm asking - I don't want to underestimate it! I've done bits of yoga on the Wii before, and my levels have dropped, but I imagine a class would be much different to me wobbling about on a board in my living room!

Nah! Yoga's just sitting around and going "OM" isn't it?

Andy "Well Informed" HB 😉

I don't do yoga, but have heard mixed comments. If it is a class, it may pay to warn the instructor, then relax and enjoy the class. It will help improve things like balance and flexibility. Some say it makes their levels rise and others say it makes their levels fall a little.

My understanding is that there are several different types of yoga and some are more physical than others.

As yoga can be used as a relaxation exercise it can cause a drop in your stress hormones (which all act against insulin) so that can cause a drop in your BM.

I don't do yoga, but have heard mixed comments. If it is a class, it may pay to warn the instructor, then relax and enjoy the class. It will help improve things like balance and flexibility. Some say it makes their levels rise and others say it makes their levels fall a little.

Oh yes I plan to let them know!