Yep another T2

Nick2008

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Good morning everyone.
Well a bit about me.
I was diagnosed T2 diet controlled about 2 yrs ago and yeah
I sort of stopped having lots of rubbish then fell off the waggon then back to being a good boy just before christmas ( ha I’m 60 next month ) still over weight which I find hard ish to move.
Well I’ve recently been released from Hospital after being hit hard with the dreaded C-19. And whilst in there I had to have all types of stuff that had tipped me over into T2 so I’m on the pill.
So I’m now very new to this. Ive been given a freebie from the hospital to check my blood glucose 4 times a day and I’m around 6.5 to 8 and they wanted me to be below 10 so I’m getting in that area most of the time.

Hopefully I can pick up tips and tricks to help get through this and try to turn somethings around.
Hope your all safe and well and thank you.
Nick2008.

adrian1der

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Welcome @Nick2008

You have four levers to try and control your blood glucose. First is diet. Have a think about what you're eating and try to lower the amount of carbs you consume. Not just sugar but starchy carbs (rice, bread, pasta, potatoes etc) as well. Carbs are rapidly converted by the body into glucose. So if you like those types of food try for smaller portions or less carby alternatives. Second is exercise. Exercise will help to lower your blood glucose. Even a gentle stroll or some house work will help. Of course, with smaller portions and some exercise you'll find that the third tool, weight loss, will happen naturally. If you need to loose some weight then shifting a few pounds will help enormously. The fourth tool is drugs the most common being metformin for T2s. Do you know what your HbA1c was at your last test?

zuludog

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Welcome @Nick2008