Working on cruise ship

Status
Not open for further replies.

LauraU

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hey guys and girls,

I’m new to this page and was looking for some guidance/advice.

I’ve been offered a job on a cruise ship to work as a nurse but have been told I need an ENG1 medical, I’ve been looking online and it’s looking very unlikely I’ll be able to get the job with type 1 diabetes which is devastating.

I’ve been type 1 for 21 years with no complications.
Has anyone had any experience or information on this?

Thanks

Laura

Hey guys and girls,

I’m new to this page and was looking for some guidance/advice.

I’ve been offered a job on a cruise ship to work as a nurse but have been told I need an ENG1 medical, I’ve been looking online and it’s looking very unlikely I’ll be able to get the job with type 1 diabetes which is devastating.

I’ve been type 1 for 21 years with no complications.
Has anyone had any experience or information on this?

Thanks

Laura
Can I suggest you ring the Diabetes UK help line for advice as there is potentially a Disability discrimination issue if that was the only reason you were refused. It may depend on where the ship is registered what regulations would apply.

Welcome to the forum @LauraU

I’ve moved your thread to the General board to get more attention.

Hope you have managed to contact the Diabetes UK helpline and they were able to give you some pointers. Was there any specific reason why you thought an ENG1 was unlikely? It’s not something I am familiar with.

There are some links to general employment information here:

Best of luck with your job offer!

Doing a single handed circumnavigation has long been a day-dream of mine. As a result, I have at least heard of the ENG-1. You can read the full UK government advice for seafarers here

The relevant bits are from this section:
The most important conditions that can affect fitness are:

• diabetes treated with insulin (Type 1 or 2)