Work and breaks

Status
Not open for further replies.

Milliebean96

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi all,
I’m new to Diabetes UK and am type 2 for about 8 years.
My employers are making me take breaks and lunches at times which means I could be going 3 to 4 hours without a break. Can they do this?
I’ve never had this before as previous employers have let me take breaks every two hours to help me manage my sugar levels.

Hi @Milliebean96 and welcome to the forum

What is it that you need to do every two hours in order to manage your Diabetes?
An employee is required to make necessary changes, so it depends what it is that you need to do.

Hi @Milliebean96 and welcome to the forum

What is it that you need to do every two hours in order to manage your Diabetes?
An employee is required to make necessary changes, so it depends what it is that you need to do.
My employer sends me on breaks 15 minutes x 2 and half hour lunch all in a time space of about three hours when i’m working a nine hour shift. So this means i could be going for too long without a break. I was told by my diabetic nurse to eat regularly.

What medication are you taking which necessitates eating so often?

Hi all,
I’m new to Diabetes UK and am type 2 for about 8 years.
My employers are making me take breaks and lunches at times which means I could be going 3 to 4 hours without a break. Can they do this?
I’ve never had this before as previous employers have let me take breaks every two hours to help me manage my sugar levels.