Work and breaks

Status
Not open for further replies.

cblatch

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi I am new to all this but wonder if anyone can give me some advice. I work 3 full days a week and get a 20 min lunch break. I find this isn't always enough time to do my insulin and eat and get a drink. I never do a sugar level at lunchtime on the days I work and sometimes I have actually missed my jab because I havent had time to eat and do it and other times I have had my jab but not had time to eat enough so had a hypo later on! Does anyone know if my boss is required to give me extra time if needed for medication?

Hi, does your employer know that you have diabetes, and that you need to treat it with insulin? As I understand it, employers are legally obliged to make any necessary adjustments to allow you to manage your diabetes properly, and this would include allowing sufficient break time to eat, test and inject. I'm sure others with more concrete advice will reply! 🙂

A 20 minute lunch break seems a bit stingy at the best of times..... how long a stint do you work for?

Also, how long does it take for you to test yourself and take your insulin and eat your lunch i.e. how much longer do you realistically need? And is your boss aware that you need this extra time?
You haven't mentioned how far you have gone in discussing this with your boss, but a quantitive idea of the tiem required is likely to be information that she or he will need to understand before being able to help you.

hey, 20 mins is the minimum requirement for shifts over 6 hours -

"Rest breaks - a break during your working day
As an adult worker (over 18), you will normally have the right to a 20 minute rest break if you are expected to work more than six hours at a stretch.
A lunch or coffee break can count as your rest break. Additional breaks might be given by your contract of employment. There is no statutory right to 'smoking breaks'.
The requirements are:
the break must be in one block