Wiki pages about triathlon

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris Hobson

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
I've been doing a little research about my favourite sport and discovered that Wikipedia has some very informative pages on the subject of triathlon.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Triathlon

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ironman_Triathlon

Since posting various threads on the subject I am aware that I have failed to inspire a single other person to take up the sport. The linked wiki posts are not particularly encouraging for anyone thinking of entering their first event as a complete novice. All I can say is that I was a complete novice once and that it is nowhere near as hard as it looks. Also, the fact that other people perceive it as being incredibly difficult, means that you can earn massive kudos even by doing a super sprint event.

Last edited:
I think you'll never know who might have been inspired because although the forum has over 14000 members regular posters probably number 20, 30, 40, if that. A very limited number. However there are all the members who don't post and all the guests. Often when I log in there are 5 or 6 members and 60 or 70 guests. That's a lot of more people than you think who may have been inspired. 🙂

When I was diagnosed I wasn't discouraged from doing sport but I wasn't exactly encouraged either. The only sporting role model I had was Gary Mabbutt. What a star he was under what must have been difficult conditions in trying to manage it. Nowadays though with technology and being better able to manage the condition with better insulins, pumps, CGMs etc we have a whole host of diabetic sporting role models which should highlight to people that sport and diabetes is perfectly normal and something to be encouraged.