Which Pump?

Status
Not open for further replies.

grainger

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi all,

So I've been given a choice of two pumps and I'd love people's opinions, reviews, comments etc on them please. I'm reading the text on their individual websites but lets face it it's sales jargon and I'm after the reality of them so please please let me know....

medtronic 640g or animas Vibe

Hopefully at least one of them is half decent!
Also, have people bought the sensors that go with them or not? I realise these aren't funded and seem seriously expensive so I don't know if it's worth it or not?

Thanks!

They are both very good pumps. If you want the sensors then the vibe is the way to go due to being able to get a lot more use from the Dexcom sensors.

Glad that you have gone for a pump Grainger. I have no experience of either of these pumps but I am sure someone will be along with some info about them. Keep us posted with how you get on.

Hi grainger, I have been on the pump for 2 months now. Mine is the Medtronic 640G. When I was in the process of starting the pump we had 2 reps come to see us, 1 from Medtronic and 1 from Animas. The Medtronic 640G looked so much better than the Animas vibe and the Medtronic rep gave a much better sell.I think it is great and wish I had the option to go on it before.

I used the freestyle libre for the 1st month or so so that i could see the trends, i found it useful for fine tuning.

It's surprising how when you first start using the pump, it seems quite daunting, by the time you've done a couple of set changes, it feels like second nature.

Agree with @Pumper_Sue, both very good. Vibe is a bit long in the tooth these days, but several of this generation of new pumps (640G/Insight) seem to have found a whole bunch of people who really don't get on with them for various reasons.