What would you want a teacher to know?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gottapee

Hi everyone

I’m a diabetic but also a secondary teacher ( in Scotland) and we have a number of students who are diabetic in our school.

I’m hoping to learn more about how to support young diabetics in school - what would you want teachers to know? I am putting forward a proposal for staff training on diabetes in young people and would love your input on this.

Obviously we already have

- freedom to check readings/ respond to alarms in classes
- freedom to eat/drink when necessary in classes
- freedom to leave the class whenever necessary (with or without a trusted classmate) for medical reasons including using the bathroom

I’m also considering suggesting

- a “I’m diabetic” type card they can give to their non regular teachers (think substitute teachers who don’t know their medical history that details the above information) would this be too much? As a teacher I know that often you don’t know things until you are told about it, especially if you are a sub, but at the same time I can see how many young people might feel this is drawing attention to the issue and Making them feel highlighted or embarrassed- what do you think your child would say/feel about this?

But is there anything else you could suggest to add to this list? A few students have asked for out of class early passes as in busy corridors as pumps/cgms can easily get knocked off - is this something that should be considered?

I became diabetic as an adult so have no experiences as how teens experience this, and would genuinely love to know how I can help others support diabetic students in the classroom. Is there anything in regards to exams or assessments that would be helpful to add to this?

Thanks again