What support is available for parents of adult Type 1 offspring with complications?

JCTH

Relationship to Diabetes
Parent
I have asked this question before but am nearing breaking point now and don't know where to turn for the right support. Counselling could help with my emotions, but what I really need is to know how to support my son with the complications he is enduring and make life a little more bearable for him. Is anyone else experiencing anything similar?

I’ll be honest, I don’t really know but possibly your GP or Diabetes UK might be a good place to start. They could at least point you in the right direction.

Take care xxx

with my emotions, but what I really need is to know how to support my son with the complications he is enduring and make life a little more bearable for him. Is anyone else ex
I'd say doctor and DBUK as well. Through my job (I work as a regulated protection adviser) I know that if you have life cover (or other protection cover, critical illness, income protection etc...) you may have some built in private consultations which can be used for support you and your family through difficult times. Its not usually talked about much, but when you need help its worth looking into as it is often overlooked and usually in place. Hope you get the assistance you need. Take care

I have asked this question before but am nearing breaking point now and don't know where to turn for the right support. Counselling could help with my emotions, but what I really need is to know how to support my son with the complications he is enduring and make life a little more bearable for him. Is anyone else experiencing anything similar?
Sounds like you have so much to cope with @JCTH and looking to do the best for your son. It must be so tough to watch your son go through such hardship and not be able to take the problems away. If you feel able to, could you tell us what kind of complications he is living with and we'll do our best to support both of you.