What is spiking?

Status
Not open for further replies.

michael4479

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Good morning I know this may sound stupid but keep hearing about peoples blood sugar spiking with different foods, but what does spiking feel like, I understand everyone is different so it will be difficult to tell, but as I am new to my type 2 I don’t think I have ever felt different after eating foods apart from full.
I thank you in advance for your help, it certainly a new learning experience having diabetes.
michael

It just means your blood sugar going up high after a meal @michael4479 It’s to represent the spike on a CGM graph. It doesn’t feel like anything unless your blood sugar goes very high. Then you would get the symptoms of high blood sugar.

Thank you, I just thought somehow it made you feel unwell, so as my diabetic nurse only does my bloods once a year how am I supposed to know if I am spiking.

Thank you, I just thought somehow it made you feel unwell, so as my diabetic nurse only does my bloods once a year how am I supposed to know if I am spiking.
Many people find having a home testing blood glucose monitor which they can use to test progress at reducing blood glucose by testing before and 2 hours after meals so they can identify foods and meals which will push blood glucose over the suggested no more than 8-8.5mmol/l after food. By keeping post meal level below that will be more likely to lead to your HbA1C being in normal range together with keeping before meal and fasting level in the range 4-7mmol/l.
The monitor also enables you to test if you feel unwell to see if it is because your blood glucose is too high. Symptoms will often be being thirsty, needing frequent loo visits, UTIs, being dizzy. The monitor gives you control of managing your diabetes rather that annual HbA1Cs where things can have gone arwy without your knowledge meantime.