what I wish I'd known when first diagnosed as type 1 (just over two months ago)

MollyBolt

Pronouns
She/Her
I am now 2 and a half months into my diagnosis of type 1 after a nasty ketoacidosis experience. There’s a bunch of stuff I wish I’d known then - stuff that I expect people were telling me and I didn’t quite hear - that I thought I might write down a few random thoughts in case useful for others. I’m conscious that some of what I say may seem nonsense to those who are months ahead of me and so please read it in the spirit in which it is meant. Also pls do correct me if you think I've got stuff wrong - I know I am still a novice in managing diabetes.

1. You’ll be inundated with people who know someone [usually friend of a friend, relative of a friend] with type 1 and who say it’s totally fine, not a big deal. To start with you’ll hope this is true. Then you may worry that you are inadequate because that’s not how you are finding it. Then you’ll find yourself telling people that “it’s totally fine, not a big deal” whilst knowing that this isn’t true (right now anyway) but it’s easier to say that than to actually unpack how you feel. And you’ll then realise this is how the stories of the friends of friends etc got made. (And maybe one day you’ll be telling people it’s fine and not a big deal because that’s how it feels – and I v much hope that this turns out to be the case. But don’t expect it for a while.)

2. You’ll also come across a bunch people who don’t know very much but who want to give you somewhat random advice, usually vaguely relevant to type 2 (and sometimes just wrong…sometimes also right!). Your irritation with these will grow. One day you’ll likely learn to smile and move the conversation on. (The managing to smile and move the conversation on hasn’t yet happened for me but I live in hopes of becoming a better person.)