What’s your favourite ‘food time of year’?

everydayupsanddowns

Administrator
Staff member
Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
I‘ve been noticing this week that our food choices have switched into Summer mode, with more lighter, salady choices, and a generally fresher palate.

Even the simplest foods seem to taste better when eaten outside, and for a real feast a BBQ is hard to beat.

Having said that I am a real sucker for the hearty feelgood solidity of Autumn stews and casseroles.

What’s your favourite food season, and is it affected by which choices cause less BG chaos?

HenryBennett

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
My favourite “food time of the year” is BBQ time. But for me BBQ time is year round:cool:

Meat and salad, yay. Sunday roast in my Big Green Egg with a few small roasties and fresh vegetables (no Yorkshire puds) goes down well.

New Year’s Eve is a favourite BBQ day, regardless of the weather, as I have a barbecue hut.

I’m a newbie but try to consider carbs and BG level at all times. My biggest weakness is good dairy ice cream, and that’s also year round :)

Toucan

Forum Host
Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Oww - I just love the summer foods.
Lots of lovely fresh salad veggies, some straight from the garden - easy to prepare- no cooking.

Love eating outdoors, and getting the barbie going. Not sure what it is about blokes and barbies, but my hubby sees the barbie as his province - so another tick on the 'no cooking' list for me.

Summer fruits are a big favourite as well, although I have to take care not to eat to many.
Ah yes @HenryBennett - then there's the ice cream. This is a big 'red alert' food for me, and it is dangerous to have a tub in the freezer - it just seems to melt away!

KARNAK

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Don`t like food, takes away the smell of the beer.:mad:

HenryBennett

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2