What’s better Medtronic 780g with guardian 4 cgm sensor or tandem x2 slim with control iq and dexacom g6cgm

Status
Not open for further replies.

Simply suzie

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi
Having to decide on one of these insulin pumps with cgm (continuous glucose monitoring) and it is difficult to get data on sensor reliability and ease of use of the pumps and how good their technical support can be.
appreciate any feedback and tips on helping me choose….thanks

Last edited:
Hi
Having to decide on one of these insulin pumps with cgm (continuous glucose monitoring) and it is difficult to get data on sensor reliability and ease of use of the pumps and how good their technical support can be.
appreciate any feedback and tips on helping me choose….thanks
I have been using the Medtronic 780G with Guardian G3 for about 18 months. (Moving to G4 "soon".) I had previously been with the 640G for some years, so handling reservoir refills and infusion set replacement had become second nature. In the early days, I had a violent skin reaction to the sensor and was told to put an IV3000 dressing underneath, but the problem went away. At first, I found replacing the sensor a bit fiddly, as it involves fixing oval tapes on top, not easy to keep it straight while removing the backing, potentially a three-handed job. I did have a few sensor failures in the early months, but it is now possible to order replacements online. The consultant told me, in respect of the software, that decides the dose on the basis of an interstitial glucose reading every five minutes, "You have to let it get on with the job. There is nothing you can do and nothing I can do." It is not always perfect, sometimes I can't work out why it reduces the bolus when blood sugar is high, but it is probably better than human intervention. One has to recognise that all it can do if you go low is to cut off delivery, and sometimes that may not be enough. At my last pump clinic, I was told I had been 96% in range,