Vitamin Recommendations?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

robyn2211

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi there,

Just looking to hear what other T1’s take for vitamins and any recommendations?! Do they effect BG readings; higher or lower?

I’ve noticed my hair falling out alot, my skin has changed and my nails seem to be very brittle since being diagnosed several months ago. It could be T1 or something else but worth a shot trying to help myself!

Thanks.
Happy New Year!

Hi there @robyn2211. 🙂 Have you spoken to your GP about these symptoms? I’ve been T1 for 14 years and haven’t experienced anything similar. As for supplements, have a look at the carb content on the packaging. I take Berocca every now and then with no effect on my BG, but I read somewhere they’re high in salt.

Are you taking Metformin? The reason I ask is that my nails went through a really bad spell of being brittle during the first 6 months of diagnosis, but that changed after I stopped taking Metformin (I was misdiagnosed Type 2 to start with). I don't know if it is a known side effect or even if the Metformin was responsible for the poor nail condition and dry skin, but it is better now. I don't take a vitamin supplement at the moment but in the past I have used the cheaper Lidl equivalent of Berocca. Even if it contains sugar, it is not going to be more than 5g carbs per tablet, probably significantly less, so really not worth worrying about. If you are taking a capsule or tablet that you swallow then it will be considerably less than 5g if it contains sugar, because of the size involved, so I really would not worry about a supplement having any significant impact on your diabetes management.

Hi there,

Just looking to hear what other T1’s take for vitamins and any recommendations?! Do they effect BG readings; higher or lower?