Victoza

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stuart Parker

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi all, this is my first post on here, I have had diabetes type 2 for about 12years and I am having to go onto a new drug to me called Victosa which is injected plus I will still be on Metformin, is the new drug classed as insulin and will I need to inform the D.V.L.A.

Stuart hi and welcome to the forum I have been on victoza myself for just over a month and im on metformin too, sorry i cant help with the DVLA question as im not a driver, can you ask your GP?

Hi all, this is my first post on here, I have had diabetes type 2 for about 12years and I am having to go onto a new drug to me called Victosa which is injected plus I will still be on Metformin, is the new drug classed as insulin and will I need to inform the D.V.L.A.

I am no expert, but its not actually insulin, its a hormone I suppose which encourages the beta cells to produce insulin, a bit like byetta.............

I know its not insulin, Whether to inform the DVLA, don't know sorry, I suppose it wouldn't hurt as it wont effect anything.......you will still be required to renew every 3 years.........

Hi and welcome to the forum 🙂

Give the medical team at DVLA a call, to check where you stand - in my experience they're a helpful and friendly bunch.

Hope the new meds work well.

Hi Stuart, welcome to the forum. 🙂 You don't need to inform the DVLA as long as certain medical conditions are met. Go to this link and download the 'At a Glance' document. Chapter 3 is about drivers with diabetes, and there is a table which says when you need to inform DVLA:

http://www.dft.gov.uk/dvla/medical/ataglance.aspx

Click on the appendix for the chapter for details of the medical conditions to be met.

Victosa

Thank you all for the helpful and friendly responses, I will take a look at the link suggested.

Check whether you need to inform your Insurer of the change as well.

just to say Hi and welcome to the forum stuart 🙂