• Please Remember: Members are only permitted to share their own experiences. Members are not qualified to give medical advice. Additionally, everyone manages their health differently. Please be respectful of other people's opinions about their own diabetes management.

Very different readings from 2 meters

D

Deleted member 16779

I've been using a Nexus GlucoRX for the past 9 months and it seems to have been accurate - 5.1/5.2 fasting, down to 7 postprandial readings, lowest has been 4.0. But to save money, I've swtiched to the SD codefree yesterday, and found that the readings are about 10-15% higher on that, I've still got some GlucoRX strips left, so been testing the same blood with both and got, for instance: 5.2 (GlucoRX) and 5.9 (SD) this morning. At lunchtime after a gym visit before food I got 6 and 6.9.

I knew they weren't hugely accurate, but online a figure of 10-15% is quoted - these are practically dead on 15% different. I've read suggestions that you can get a lab BG test to calibrate - but I wouldn't know where to start - this sounds a bit theoretically true, but not actually practical to me.

Anyone else found the CodeFree to be so highly over, or the GlucoRX to be highly under, or both?

It's maths, really. If you have one device that reads 10% low, and another that reads 10% high, then the added difference seems very high, but it may not be.
You have no idea which one is more accurate, and the only way to do that is to record the BG from a test strip at the same time a venous sample is being taken. There will be a difference. That difference may crush your faith in fingerpricks altogether, of course.;)

I quite agree, novorapid. It doesn't really matter which device you use.