University Research

Status
Not open for further replies.

edwardph14

Hi all,

My name is Edward Phillips and I'm a third-year student at De Montfort University in Leicester studying product design Bsc. I'm currently embarking on my major project, I have chosen to look into the condition of diabetes and the issues around maintaining insulin levels.

As I'm no expert on this, I am seeking help from people who live with the condition just to fill out a quick survey to help me understand what areas are a problem.

I've attached a link to the survey as well as a letter of approval from my universities ethics team. I mean no offence by this I'm just looking for the research I need to help my project be a success. This is a non-profit project.

Feel free to fill it in at your own leisure.

Many thanks Ed🙂

https://forms.gle/c1PLSYmCWwwLmnC86

Attachments

No problem - someone will be along shortly. @Josh DUK can probably help

I have reviewed the ethics approval @edwardph14, and your research project is approved.

Best wishes for your project

Done! Just a couple of observations.
It refers to 'Insulin pen' singular, and asks how many shots you do a day. Most of us have two insulin pens, one for bolus (short acting, for meal times) and one for basal (once or twice a day, long acting background insulin). So I do two shots one morning and one at bedtime from the long acting pen, and three or more shots at meal or snack times from the other, so I couldn’t be quite accurate with that question.
For the question as to whether not having my insulin pen with me affected me mentally or physically, the answer is, it depends on why I needed it. It’s a different matter
1) if I find I’m unexpectedly high, and could do with a correction dose, but didn’t think I’d need my pen, or