Uni Students

Status
Not open for further replies.

katie

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
I was just wondering how people cope at university.

Do you test when you are there and do you inject in public etc??

I did my first degree before diagnosis, and my MSc a couple of years after diagnosis.

I reckon issues of injecting and testing in public are much the same as anywhere, but accommodation can be an issue - theft from shared fridges is a big problem! I did check with tutors that I could take sweets into exams (had several 3 hour papers) and supervisor said I could go out anytime I needed and someone would follow - which I didn't need, but nice to know it's an option. Also, if studying away from home, you can only register with one GP, but can use another as a visitor - usually, terms are longer than holidays. If registered with a hospital, then ask about getting appointments in term or vacation time as appropriate - or get repeat prescriptions by post, as I did when carrying out research in Northern Ireland, college & GP in London, parental home in Birmingham, then moved to Cambridge on graduation. Also, university probably the best ever opportuity to try new sports etc / develop interests - I developed fell walking, nordic skiing, orienteering etc. Blanket ban on minibus driving is only an issue if you use insulin and are over 25, as many unions don't allow younger people to drive minibuses. But I couldn't continue with my TA service that I had done during first degree after diagnosis, so military cadet units eg OTC (Officer Training Corps) are out I think, although I know there are younger people with Type 1 in CCF (Combined Cadet Force) / ACF (Army Cadet Force) - not sure about Navy & Air Force equivalents, but I guess rules are the same.

Last edited:
I graduated a couple of years ago but was diagnosed the summer before my last year at uni, stressful enough year without the diabetes on top! In terms of injecting etc it was the same as anywhere else.