Type 3c

Status
Not open for further replies.

Perry grayson

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 3c
Hi and thanks for letting me join the group. So anybody else got 3c. I think I'm having problems controlling my body temperature? Any help would be great. Thanks

Hi @Perry grayson and welcome,

Type 3c is a tiny proportion of the numerous people with diabetes, but (slightly surprisingly) the causes or routes into T3c can be very different and thus influence the response or advice you might receive.

I got here following a total pancreatectomy while having a cancerous tumour removed that was surrounding my pancreas. So I abruptly became diabetic and categorised T3, because of damage to my pancreas (slight understatement) and 3c includes me as well as people who've got pancreatitis and suffered continuing (painful) degradation of their pancreas, possibly (not always) ending up with surgery and partial or total pancreatectomy. Most T3cs are insulin dependent, but not all.

I have no experience of body temp problems, other than sometimes I have awoken in the night in a hot sweat because I'm hypo or close to that.

But if you would like to share a little bit more about your diagnosis, such as how and when your diagnosis came about, along with what medications you are on and whether you have been provided with Libre - then other T3cs on this forum may be able to help on that specific question.

If you have other questions, please don't hesitate to ask. There is a wealth of experience within the membership and no question is stupid.

Welcome @Perry grayson
I'm another Type 3c.
My diabetes was caused by necrotising pancreatitis. Until the inflammation went down I had lots of trouble with temperature control. All OK now though.